Running in Cuba

About three days ago I stepped off the plane from Cuba. Ten days spent exploring different areas of the country. If you haven’t been, you must go. It really is a throwback to the sixties. Old derilict buildings that actually look quite beautiful, and classic Cuban cars line the streets everywhere you look. The people which have so little but still remain happy, proud to be Cuban. 

I make it my goal to try and run in every country I visit. While I didn’t want Cuba to be about running (having exhausted myself and being with a non-running friend), I set myself the goal of 4 x 5km runs. This ensured I kept my legs ticking over, without letting the running consume me, or prevent me from exploring the cities during the day.

Given the tropical climate I wanted to get my run in first thing in the morning, which meant setting off at 7am to catch the sunrise. And it didn’t disappoint. A few shots below of the sunrise, taken from the seafront of Havana Old Town.


Despite the 7am start, it was hot out there! There was a breeze but blowing only warm air, it didn’t provide any relief.

I had been warned that running wasn’t really the done thing. A friend said she’d tried it on Cuba and people stared and made remarks. I set off on my first run prepared for this but the reality was quite the opposite. There was the occasional jeer but that tends to happen in Cuba whether running or not (if I had a penny for every time someone called me a “beautiful lady”…) In fact, there were a few runners out and about and I even managed a few high fives!

My experience running in Cuba is one I won’t forget in a while. I’m a sucker for a sunrise, and experiencing it in a country like Cuba makes it that bit more breathtaking.

It’s funny to think hat the next time I run overseas it’ll be in October. In Amsterdam. For marathon number three.

Leave a Reply

