Runners Need x adidas Runners URBANATHLON 

On Wednesday I was lucky enough to attend the launch of Runners Need’s new run club. Partnering with adidas runners and with special guests twice team GB Olympic Gold Medallists, the Brownlee brothers, the evening was always destined to be a success. 

Hundreds of runners and athletes turned up to the event, held at Old Billingsgate. Once registered we had the opportunity to trial some adidas trainers. I trialled the adidas supernova sequence. Initially surprised by their bulkiness however they were very easy to run in. The usual boost technology gave them bounce and they gave me all the support I needed.


Once kitted out in a vest and kicks, it was time to get started.

First up for me was a 4.5km run. In the rain. But that didn’t matter. The impressive sights of London and being joined by Alistair Brownlee himself made the miles fly by.


Back indoors to dry off and straight into a spin class. I’ve never done spin before; and aside from the occasional Boris bike ride, I rarely put my bum to the saddle. I was pleasantly surprised, the class was tough but not as difficult as I’d imagined. Maybe I wasn’t putting in enough effort, but I was definitely sweating by the end.

Finally, was the HIIT session. Having been through Bradley Simmond’s sessions twice already in the past 10 days, I knew this wasn’t going to be easy. I thought I could slack off at the back, until Jonny Brownlee entered the room and parked himself right in front of me. Time to pretend like I knew what I was doing. Highlight of the class was doing star jumps with Jonny.


The evening rounded off with a sweaty group photo, healthy food and a goodie bag.

Fantastic energy from the coaches, instructors and athletes taking part, all night. But that’s to be expected from an adidas event.

One comment

Leave a Reply

