New Kicks: PureBOOST x

Last night I was lucky enough to be invited by adidas runners London to trial the new adidas PureBOOST X trainers. 

I trialled the shoe a few weeks ago on one of the adidas runs, and hate to admit I wasn’t a fan. While they had the bounce of other boost trainers the design at the back cut my ankles. I wasn’t the only one.

But, I’m a firm believer of second chances, so gave the shoes another stab. Armed with longer socks I and 59 other girls rocked up at Sunbeam Studios in Ladbroke Grove for the launch.

Upon arrival we were kitted out with adidas runners tees, and pureboost kicks, and mingled over an iced coffee from Workshop coffee. After an energetic warm up we set off on a sweaty 5km route along Regents canal towards to adidas store on Oxford Street, dodging tourists along the way.

So how do PureBOOST X rate for running?

They definitely have the same bounce as other trainers in the boost range, and at times I felt like I wasn’t wearing any trainers at all. They are extremely lightweight and I really felt like I was being propelled forward, particularly while sprinting down Oxford Street tourist dodging toward the end of the run.

But, given the flexibility of the shoe I wouldn’t wear them for longer runs as despite the high arch which gave me some support, it wasn’t as much as the adidas boost ST, for example.

Overall, as a gym or short run shoe I’d highly rate them. Just make sure you pack longer socks!

One comment

Leave a Reply

